Enormities: Harming The Friends (Awliya’) Of Allah Most High

This is another article in the chapter Enormities from the classical manual on Sharia called Reliance of the Traveller. The articles are posted one by one in the order they are given in the book.

p51.0 HARMING THE FRIENDS (AWLIYA’) OF ALLAH MOST HIGH
p51.1 Allah Most High says,
“Verily, those who offend Allah and His messenger are cursed by Allah in this world and the next, and He has prepared for them a humiliating torment” (Koran 33:57).
p51.2 The Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) said:
(1) “Abu Bakr, if you anger them [some of the poorer Emigrants], you anger your Lord.”
(2) “Allah Most High says: ‘He who is hostile to a friend (wali) of Mine I declare war against. My slave approaches Me with nothing more beloved to Me than what I have made obligatory for him, and My slave keeps drawing nearer to Me with voluntary works until I love him. And when I love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, his sight with which he sees, his hand with which he seizes, and his foot with which he walks. If he asks Me, I will surely give to him, and if he seeks refuge in Me, I will surely protect him.’ ” (n: This hadith is explained in detail at w33, which discusses the friends (awliya’) of Allah Most High.)

Leave a Reply

