Reading the Koran. 91

This is another excerpt from Bill Warner’s book Abridged Koran where the verses of Koran are arranged in their chronological order and provided with facts from prophet Muhammad’s life, giving context for them.

CHAPTER 11 JIHAD, WAR AGAINST ALL (end of chapter)

THE RAID ON THE TRIBE OF B. SULAYM

Seven days after Mohammed returned from Badr, there were four more armed raids, but no contact with the enemy, the unbelievers.

Mohammed was now a political force unlike any ever seen in history. The fusion of religion and politics with a universal mandate created a historic force that is permanent. There will be no peace until all the world is Islam. The spoils of war will provide the wealth of Islam. The awe of Mohammed is the fear of Allah.

The Prophet said, “I have been given five things which were not given to anyone else before me.

  1. Allah made me victorious by awe, by His frightening my enemies for a distance of one month’s journey.
  2. The earth has been made for me and for my followers a place for praying and to perform my rituals, therefore anyone of my followers can pray wherever the time of a prayer is due.
  3. The spoils of war has been made Halal (lawful) for me yet it was not lawful for anyone else before me.
  4. I have been given the right of intercession on the Day of Resurrection.
  5. Every Prophet used to be sent to his nation but only I have been sent to all mankind.

Mohammed left Mecca as a preacher and prophet. He entered Medina with about 150 Muslim converts. After a year in Medina there were about 250-300 Muslims and most of them were very poor. After the battle of Badr, a new Islam emerged. Mohammed rode out of Medina as a politician and general. Islam became an armed political force with a religious motivation, jihad.

Leave a Reply

