Reading the Koran. 52

This is another excerpt from Bill Warner’s book Abridged Koran where the verses of Koran are arranged in their chronological order and provided with facts from prophet Muhammad’s life, giving context for them.

CHAPTER 5 (continued)

12:88 And when they came in to Joseph, they said, “Oh, Prince, distress has reached us and our family, and we have poor merchandise, so give us full measure, and be charitable to us for Allah will repay the almsgivers.”

12:89 Joseph said, “Do you know what you did to Joseph and his brother in your ignorance?”

12:90 They said, “Are you indeed Joseph?” He said, “I am Joseph, and this is my brother. Allah has been gracious to us. For he who guards against evil and is patient will be rewarded. Allah will not allow the reward of the righteous to be lost!”

12:91 They said, “By Allah, now Allah has chosen you above us, and we have indeed been sinners!”

12:92 He said, “No blame will be on you this day. Allah may forgive you for He is the most merciful of those who show mercy. Go with this shirt of mine, and lay it on my father’s face, and he will recover his sight, and come to me with all your family.”

12:94 When the caravan departed from Egypt, their father said, “I surely perceive the smell of Joseph. Do not think I am feeble.”

12:95 They said, “By Allah, it is your old mistake.” Then when the bearer of good tidings came, he cast the shirt on his father’s face, and Jacob’s eyesight returned. Then he said, “Did I not tell you that I knew from Allah what you did not know?”

12:97 They said, “Oh, Our father, ask pardon for our crimes for us for we have truly been sinners.”

12:98 He said, “I will ask your pardon of my Lord for He is forgiving and merciful.”

12:99 When they came to Joseph, he took his family to him, and said, “Enter Egypt in safety if Allah wills.”

12:100 And he raised his parents onto the throne, and they fell down bowing themselves unto him. Then he said, “Oh, my father, this is the meaning of my dream of old. My Lord has now made it true, and He has surely been gracious to me since He took me from the prison and has brought you up out of the desert, even after Satan stirred up strife between me and my brothers. My Lord is gracious to whom He will for He is knowing and wise.

12:101 “Oh, my Lord, you have given me some power and have taught me to interpret dreams. Maker of the heavens and of the earth, You are my guardian in this world and in the next. Cause me to die a Muslim, and join me with the just.”

12:102 This is one of the secret stories, which We reveal to you. You were not with Joseph’s brothers when they conceived their design and laid their plot. And though you try, the greater part of men will not believe you. You will not ask them for any reward for this message. It is simply a reminder for all mankind.

Leave a Reply

