Reading the Koran. 50

This is another excerpt from Bill Warner’s book Abridged Koran where the verses of Koran are arranged in their chronological order and provided with facts from prophet Muhammad’s life, giving context for them.

CHAPTER 5 (continued)

12:43 The King of Egypt said, “I saw seven fat cows in a dream being eaten by seven lean cows, and seven green ears of corn and seven others withered. Oh, nobles, explain to me my dream if you are able to explain dreams.”

12:44 They said, “They are confused and mixed dreams, and we do not interpret dreams.”

12:45 Then Joseph’s freed prisoner companion said, “I will tell you the interpretation. Let me try.” He went to Joseph in prison and said, “Joseph, truthful one, explain to us the dream of the seven fat cows which seven lean ones devoured, and of the seven green ears with the others withered that I may return to the men and that they may be informed.”

12:47 He said, “You will sow seven years as usual, and the corn you reap you will leave in its year except a little of which you will eat. After that will come seven grievous years when you will eat what you have stored except that which you will have kept. A year after this, men will have rain, and they will press wine and oil.”

12:50 The King said, “Bring him to me.” And when the messenger returned, Joseph said, “Go back to your lord, and ask him what is the case of the women who cut their hands, for my lord well knows the snare they laid.”

12:51 The King sent for the women and asked, “What happened when you tried to seduce Joseph?” They said, “Allah keep us. We do not know any evil against him.” The wife said, “Now the truth appears. It was I who tried to seduce him. He is most surely one of the truthful ones.”

12:52 Joseph said, “I asked for this so that my lord may know that I was not false in his absence, and that Allah does not guide the snares of the false ones. Yet I do not absolve myself, for the human heart is prone to evil except that my Lord has mercy on us, for my Lord is forgiving and merciful.”

12:54 So the King said, “Bring him to me. I will take him for my special service.” And when he had spoken with Joseph he said, “Be assured that from this day you will be with us, confirmed in rank and trusted.”

12:55 Joseph said, “Set me over the granaries of the land, and I will guard over them wisely.” So We gave Joseph power in the land. He was the owner of it as he pleased. We give our favors to those We will, and We will guard the reward of the righteous. The reward of the life to come is better for those who have believed and feared Allah.

Leave a Reply

