Reading the Koran. 49

This is another excerpt from Bill Warner’s book Abridged Koran where the verses of Koran are arranged in their chronological order and provided with facts from prophet Muhammad’s life, giving context for them.

CHAPTER 5 (continued)

12:30 The women in the city said, “The wife of the Prince is trying to seduce her servant. He has inspired her with his love, but we clearly see she is going astray.” And when she heard of their spiteful talk, she sent for them and prepared a banquet for them and gave each one of them a knife. She said, “Joseph, show yourself.” When they saw him, they were amazed and cut their hands and said, “Allah keep us. This is no man. This is a noble angel.” She said, “This is the man about whom you blamed me. I tried to seduce him from his true self, but he stood firm. Now, if he does not obey my command, he will surely be cast into prison and become one of the despised.”

12:33 He said, “Oh, my Lord, I prefer the prison to that which they invite me, but unless you turn away their snares from me, I will feel inclined to play the youth with them and become one of the foolish.” So his Lord heard him and turned aside their snares from him for he is the hearer and the knower.

12:35 It occurred to the men, even after they had seen the signs of his innocence, to imprison him for a time. And two youths entered into the prison with him. One of them said, “I had a dream that I was pressing grapes.” The other said, “I dreamed that I was carrying bread on my head that the birds did eat. Tell us what this means, for we see you are good to all.”

12:37 Joseph said, “Before any food comes to feed either of you, I will acquaint you with the truth and meaning of your dreams. This is a part of what my Lord has taught me, for I have abandoned the religion of those who do not believe Allah and who deny the life to come. I follow the religion of my fathers, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. We could never join false gods with Allah. This is because of Allah’s bounty towards us and towards mankind, but most men do not give thanks. Oh, my two fellow prisoners, are various lords best or Allah, the one, the mighty? Those you worship beside Him are mere names that you and your fathers have named without authority. This decision is for Allah, alone. He has commanded that you worship none but Him. This is the right faith, but most men do not know it.

12:41 “Oh, my two fellow prisoners, one of you will pour wine for his Lord to drink, but the other will be crucified, and the birds will eat from his head. So the matter is decreed concerning your question.” Joseph said to the one whom he judged would be released, “Mention me in the presence of your lord, “ but Satan caused him to forget to mention Joseph to his lord, so he stayed in prison a few years.

Leave a Reply

