Reading the Koran. 38

This is another excerpt from Bill Warner’s book Abridged Koran where the verses of Koran are arranged in their chronological order and provided with facts from prophet Muhammad’s life, giving context for them.

CHAPTER 5 STRUGGLES (continued)

A Meccan met Mohammed and said, “Mohammed, you stop cursing our gods or we will start cursing your Allah.” So Mohammed stopped cursing the Meccan gods. An ongoing theme of Mohammed’s was of ancient civilizations who did not listen to their prophets and the terrible downfall of that country.

11:50 We sent their brother Hud to the Ad [an ancient people of southern Arabia] people. He said, “Oh, my people, worship Allah. You have no god beside Him. You only invent your other gods. Oh, my people, I ask you for no payment for this message. My reward is only with Him who made me. Will you not understand? Oh, my people, ask pardon of your Lord. Turn to Him and repent. He will send clouds with ample rain and will give you additional strength. Do not turn back with deeds of evil.”

11:53 They said, “Oh, Hud, you have not brought us clear proofs of your mission. We will not abandon our gods at your word because we do not believe you.”

11:54 They said, “We can only say that some of our gods may have seized you with evil.”

11:55 Hud said, “With Allah as my witness and you as witnesses also, I am innocent of your joining other gods to Allah. So conspire against me all of you, and do not grant me a delay. I trust in Allah, my Lord and yours. There is not a single beast that He does not hold by the hairs on its head. My Lord is truly on the right path. If you turn back, at least I have already delivered my message to you. My Lord will put another people in your place. You cannot hurt Him. My Lord is guardian over all things.” When We inflicted Our doom, We rescued Hud and those who believed with Him by Our special mercy. We rescued them from a severe penalty.

11:59 The men of Ad rejected signs of their Lord, rebelled against His messengers, and followed the bidding of every proud, defiant person. They were cursed in this world, and on Resurrection Day it will be said to them, “Did Ad not reject their Lord?” The people of Ad were cast far away.

11:84 We sent their brother Shuaib to Midian. He said, “Oh, my people, worship Allah. You have no other god than He. Do not give short weight and measure. I see you are prosperous, but I fear you will receive the punishment of the all-encompassing day. “Oh, my people, give to others their due in full weight and measure; do not withhold from people what is rightly theirs, and do not commit injustice on the earth causing corruption. “That which Allah leaves with you is better for you if you are believers. But I am not your keeper.”

11:87 They said to him, “Oh, Shuaib, does your religion of prayer command that we leave the gods our fathers worshipped or that we should not do what we please with our property? You are the patient one, the right-minded.”

11:88 He said, “Oh, my people, see if I have a clear revelation from my Lord and if He supplies me in abundance. I do not desire to do what I forbid you to do; I seek only your betterment. My sole help is Allah. In Him I trust, and to Him I turn. “Oh, my people, do not let your opposition to me cause you to sin so you suffer a similar fate to that of the people of Noah, or the people of Hud, or the people of Salih, and the people of Lot are not too distant from you. Ask forgiveness of your Lord and turn to Him. Surely, my Lord is merciful and loving.”

11:91 They said, “Oh, Shuaib, we do not understand much of what you say, and we clearly see that you are powerless among us. If it were not for your family, we surely would have stoned you, and you could not have prevailed against us.”

11:92 He said, “Oh, my people, do you think more highly of my family than Allah? Do you put Him behind you, neglected? My Lord surrounds you. And, Oh, my people, do whatever you have the power to do. I will do my part, too, and soon you will know who will receive the penalty that will disgrace him and who is the liar. Watch, and I, too am watching with you.”

Leave a Reply

